Judicial Branch

The Student Government Judiciary consists of seven justices. Out of those seven, a Chief Justice is elected annually to preside over the Office of the Judiciary. It is the duty of these persons to interpret the Student Government Constitution and Statutes. The judiciary also settles disputes or complaints that students may have with Student Government, its agencies, and SG funded clubs. The Judiciary is the final say on issues of noncompliance, judicial complaint, or impeachment. Members gain important experience in the areas of due process and proper judicial procedure. They also represent the student body on the Academic Appeals Committee, Student Conduct, Parking Appeals Board, J-hold and Fee Appeal Committees



Ben's Headshot - Updated(2)  

Chief Justice

Benjamin Jaeger 



Ben was born and raised in Jacksonville, Fla.  He attended the Communications Academy at Nease High School, graduated in June 2011 and began attending UNF in Fall 2011.  He is currently pursuing a double major in Economics and Marketing with a minor in Community Leadership.  Currently, he serves as the vice president of the UNF chapter of Phi Alpha Delta Law Fraternity, International, where he has also served as the president and treasurer.  Ben is an avid writer.  In October 2013, his story, My Abilities, was published in the book, Chicken Soup for the Soul: Think Positive for Kids.  Upon graduation, he hopes to work with a marketing firm and to later attend law school.

 Elisabeth Avilla  

Deputy Chief Justice

Elisabeth Avilla




Elisabeth Avilla was born and raised in Melbourne, Florida. She is double majoring in Philosophy and Political Science with a minor in Criminal Justice. In addition to serving in Student Government as the Deputy Chief Justice Elisabeth runs a legal blog for a law firm located in Melbourne. She is also the Co-Founder and Treasurer for the club Osprey Fit, a Campus Ambassador and a member of the Pre-Law Fraternity Phi Alpha Delta. Elisabeth plans to pursue her law degree upon graduation and hopes to eventually practice in the area of Family Law. In her free time Elisabeth enjoys relaxing at the beach, paddle boarding, and working out.