Faculty-led Study Abroad Programs

"Studying Abroad is a great way to gain perspective and experience that will shape the rest of your life. . ."  Jenny Ming, President, Old Navy

Study abroad is an enriching, transformational experience that provides students with unique opportunities for academic, social, and personal growth. Students who engage in international study programs are likely to return with a deeper and richer understanding of international, political, and economic issues. You learn in-depth about your host country, gain a better understanding of world affairs, and are able to experience cultural diversity first hand. Most students often discover things about themselves, their talents and abilities, and their own country and culture that they never expected. The lessons learned in the classroom, the friendships made, the amazing and beautiful sites seen, and the life-long memories will all be part of an unforgettable study abroad experience.

 

Academic Year 2014 - 2015

 

NOTE: The following are the officially APPROVED courses as of October 22, 2014. Additional courses will be listed as they are approved.

 

 

 2014 - 2015 Study Abroad Programs 

 

 

Country

 

Course / Activity

 

 Program Dates

 

Program Contact

Austria

Linz & Vienna, AUSTRIA    

INT 6911

Applied Research in Interpreting   

 

March 13 - 24, 2015

Dr. Len Roberson

(904) 620-2185    

or

Dr. Sherry Shaw  

   (904) 620-1811   

Austria

Salzburg, AUSTRIA    

NGR 5931

Culture and Health Care in Austria    

May 2 - 10, 2015

Dr. Michele Bednarzyk

mbednarz@unf.edu

  Belize

Belmopan, BELIZE

EDE 4943 & ESE 4943

Student Internship: Practicum   

 
November 15 - December 5, 2014

Dr. John Kempainnen

(904) 620-2530

jkemppai@unf.edu

 

China

Beijing, Guilin, Chengdu, Xi'an, CHINA

PHI/REL 3930 Chinese Philosophy/Religion    

6 weeks, May - June 2015 (dates to be confirmed)

Dr. Sarah Mattice

s.mattice@unf.edu

(904) 620-1331

or

Dr. Paul Carelli

paul.carelli@unf.edu

 

China

Chengdu, CHINA

CHT 3500

Intensive Chinese & Chinese Culture

3 weeks during Summer A 2015 (dates to be confirmed)

Dr. Yongan Wu

yongan.wu@unf.edu

(904) 620-2887

 /uploadedImages/images/graphics/flags/France.png

Nantes, FRANCE

Audencia Nantes School of Management

MMC 3620

International Communications 

3 weeks in May 2015

and/or

5 weeks in June - July 2015

(dates to be confirmed)

 

Susan Russo
(904) 620-2657

susan.russo@unf.edu   

 

 France

Strasbourg, FRANCE

FOL 2952, FOL 3953

Advance Foreign Language Study Abroad

&

FRT 3550

Faces of France   

May 23 - June 27, 2015

Dr. Shira Schwam-Baird 

(904) 620-1248

sschwam@unf.edu  

 

France

Le Bois d'Oingt, FRANCE    

MUN 3463

Mixed Chamber Music Ensemble

May 3 - 18, 2015

Dr. Erin Bennett

e.bennett@unf.edu

(904) 620-2961

or

Dr. Randy Tinnin

rtinnin@unf.edu

 

Germany

Berlin, GERMANY

One Spark Berlin - Non-Credit Communications Activity

September 6 - 24, 2014    

Dr. Paula Horvath-Neimeyer

(904) 620-3865

phorvath@unf.edu

 

Germany

Munich, GERMANY

HSA 4955 or HSA 6985

Study Abroad: Health Care

March 13 - 21, 2015    

Dr. Rob Haley

(904) 620-4016

rhaley@unf.edu

or

Dr. Mei Zhao

(904) 620-1444

mzhao@unf.edu  

 Italy

Perugia, ITALY

  DIE 4931

 Special Topics in Nutrition & Dietetics: 

Study Abroad of Italian Food, Culture and Society 

(open to all majors)

June 9 - 24, 2015    

Dr. Catherine Christie

(904) 620-1202

c.christie@unf.edu

 

Italy

Rome, ITALY
ARH 3955
Art History on Site  

ARH 3302

Italian Renaissance Art
May 18 - June 30, 2015

 Dr. Debra Murphy

  (904) 620-1766
 

 Portugal

PORTUGAL

Chorale Tour

May 2-18, 2015

Dr. Cara Tasher

(904) 620-3839

cara.tasher@unf.edu

South Korea

Masan, SOUTH KOREA

Kyungnam University

 

FOL 3930

Korean Culture and Language

Global Hanma Program 

3 weeks July - August 2015

(dates to be confirmed)

Susan Russo

(904) 620-2657

susan.russo@unf.edu

Spain

Santander, SPAIN    

FOL 3953

Advanced Spanish Language Study Abroad    

June 20 - July 25, 2015

Maria Angeles Fernandez Cifuentes

a.fernandez-cifuentes@unf.edu

(904) 620-1264

 Switzerland  

Geneva, SWITZERLAND

HSC Study Abroad: Explore Switzerland and Public Health    

June 4 - 14, 2015

Dr. Emma Apatu

emma.apatu@unf.edu

(904) 620-5400

 United Kingdom

Plymouth, UNITED KINGDOM

COEHS Short-Term International

Student Teaching Internship

March 12 - 28, 2015

 Dr. Madalina Tanase

(904) 620-1258

madalina.tanase@unf.edu

 

For additional faculty-led study abroad programs offered through the Coggin College of Business, see:

http://www.unf.edu/coggin/abroad/short/index.aspx