CCBL's Community Committees

Community Engagement Council

UNF's commitment to community engagement continues to grow. In an effort to help UNF move from a level of good to great community engagement, the Center for Community-Based Learning has implemented a Community Engagement Council (CEC). The CEC brings together members of the Jacksonville and UNF communities to create an agenda aimed at building more robust community partnerships.  

Co-Chairs: Mark Falbo (UNF), William Keator (Arthur Vining Davis Foundations)

Members: Carol Alexander (Ritz Museum & Theatre), Minerva Bryant (River Region Human Services), Dan Cox (UNF), Greg Frazier (The Sulzbacher Center), Chris Janson (UNF), Crystal Jones (Teach for America), Sue Nussbaum (WeCare), Debbie Reed (UNF), Emily Rokosch (JASMYN), Chelsea Rose (UNF Alum), Connie Roush (UNF), Jennifer Spaulding-Givens (UNF), MaliVai Washington (MaliVai Washington Kids Foundation) 

Meeting Dates:  2012 - January 10th, February 21st, April 3rd, May 15th, June 5th 

Enhancing Community-University Connections Strategy Meetings

Over the course of three Tuesdays in the spring of 2011, a wide-range of community members met with staff from the Center for Community-Based Learning (CCBL) to discuss Community-Based Transformational Learning (CBTL) and what it looks like in the community. Participants discussed the challenges to creating community-university partnerships, possible solutions to these challenges, particular areas of need and how to expand UNF's community engagement efforts.  

The meetings were quite successful in helping CCBL prioritize the challenges we face. As a result of the meetings, CCBL has determined the need for more regular and on-going communication with the local community. Beginning January 2012, a small group of community and UNF members will begin meeting as part of a Community Engagement Council (see above).

 Participants: Judith Brown (The Bridge of Northeast Florida), PeDro Cohen (New Town Success Zone), Anne Doyle (Mayo Clinic), Dawn Emerick (Northeast Florida Health Planning Council), Carl Falconer (River Region Human Services), Ashley Folladori (Jacksonville Chamber of Commerce), Coretta Gooden Hill (United Way of Northeast Florida), William Keator (Arthur Vining Davis Foundations), Mollie Malloy (St. Augustine Lighthouse), Andrew Miller (Public Trust Environmental Legal Institute of Florida), Amy Moring (ElderSource), Katrina Myers (Taylor Engineering), Donna O'Steen (Community Connections of Jacksonville), Brooks Pennington/Jon Howard (Outward Bound), Debra Poczatek (Helping Hands Neighborhood Network Center), Janice Rand/Pamela Otteson (Mayport Naval Center - Fleet & Family Support Center), Laine Reinecke-Clayton (Hubbard House), Jeff Smith (Cathedral Arts Project), Taryn Wharwood (Habitat for Humanity of Jacksonville)

Meeting Dates: 2011 - March 29th, April 12th, April 26th