Council of Chairs


The Council of Chairs consists of all Department Chairs and School Directors.  The Council serves as a forum for Chairs and Directors to discuss issues and concerns that affect them, their departments/schools, faculty and students.  In addition, the Council utilizes its collective wisdom and experience to inform policy-making at various levels at UNF. 
The University of North Florida Chair’s Manual, drafted by the Council of Chairs and accessed by clicking on the links below, is intended to provide a quick resource and reference guide for new and returning department chairs.  The manual does not represent official university policy, but refers to policies throughout the text. 

Chair's Manual 2011

Chair's Manual Appendix


Members, 2014-15

Chair: Debra Murphy, Chair, Art and Design

Brooks College of Health:

Dr. Li Loriz, Director, School of Nursing

Dr. Judy Rodriguez: Chair, Nutrition and Dietetics
Dr. Jeffrey Harrison: Chair, Public Health

Dr. Joel Beam: Chair, Clinical and Applied Movement Sciences

Coggin College of Business:

Dr. David Jaeger: Chair, Dept. of Accounting & Finance

Dr. Chris Johnson: Chair, Dept. of Economics and Geography (Albert Loh as of 8/15)

Dr. Paul Fadil: Chair, Dept. of Management

Dr. Ron Adams: Chair, Dept. of Marketing and Logistics (Reham Eltantawy as of 7/15)

College of Arts & Sciences:

Dr. Debra Murphy: Chair, Department of Art and Design

Dr. Daniel Moon: Chair, Department of Biology

Dr. Radha Pyati: Chair, Dept. of Chemistry

Dr. John Parmelee: Chair, Dept. of Communication

Dr. David Forde: Chair, Dept. of Criminology and Criminal Justice

Dr. Brian Striar: Chair, Dept. of English

Dr. Charles Closmann: Chair, Dept. of History

Dr. Scott H. Hochwald: Chair, Dept of Mathematics & Statistics

Dr. Randy Tinnin: Chair, Dept. of Music

Dr. Hans-Herbert Koegler: Chair, Dept. of Philosophy & Religious Studies (Mitch Haney as of 7/15)

Dr. James Garner: Chair, Dept. of Physics

Dr. Matthew Corrigan, Chair, Dept. of Political Science and Public Administration (Pam Zeiser as of 7/15 for one term)

Dr. Michael Toglia: Chair, Dept. of Psychology (Lori Lange as of 7/15)
Dr. Krista Paulsen: Chair, Dept of Sociology, Anthropology, and Social Work

Dr. Patricia Geesey: Chair, Dept. of Languages, Literatures and Cultures

College of Education & Human Services:

Dr. John Venn: Chair, Dept. of Childhood Education, Literacy, and TESOL

Dr. Jeffrey Cornett: Chair, Dept. of Foundations and Secondary Education

Dr. Chris Janson: Interim Chair, Department of Leadership, School Counseling, and Sport Management
Dr. Karen Patterson: Chair, Dept. of Exceptional, Deaf, and Interpreter Education

College of Computing, Engineering and Construction:

Dr. Asai Asaithambi: Director, School of Computing (Sherif Elfayoumy as of 6/15)

Dr. Maged Malek: Chair, Dept of Construction Management

Dr. Murat Tiryakioglu: Director, School of Engineering

Scheduled Meetings 

2015 Schedule to be announced

Location:  President’s Conference Room