Sustainability Committee

The Sustainability Committee is advisory in nature and responsible for issues that pertain to environmental sustainability primarily on UNF campus. The Committee holds open meetings on the second Thursday of each month from 11 a.m. to noon in the Presidents Conference room located in Building 1, J.J. Daniel Hall, Room 2800. 

The objectives of the Sustainability Committee are to:

  1. Guide the development and implementation of UNF’s Climate Action Plan; 
  2.  Oversee the maintenance and restoration of Sawmill Slough Preserve; 
  3. Increase communication and relationships between internal UNF entities and with our external community pertaining to green practices; 
  4. Develop a public commitment to sustainable practices; 
  5. Obtain funding for sustainability programs through the Environmental Center and/or the Office of Research and Sponsored Programs; 
  6. Recommend sustainability factors be included in planning and decision-making processes through our responsible leadership; and 
  7. Promote UNF’s sustainability practices and programs on a local, regional and national level.

For more information please contact James Taylor at (904) 620-5804.


Sustainability Committee Bylaws 

Sustainability Committee Members

Executive Board
Name      Title Department  
James Taylor, Chair Coordinator Environmental Center
Blair Romain Administrative Assistant Environmental Center
Justin Lemmons Ecologist Environmental Center
Amy Costa Coordinator Wildlife Sanctuary & Eco-Adventure
Vacant Director Student Union
Signe Evans Library Services Specialist Thomas G. Carpenter Library
Wallace Harris Associate Director Physical Facilities
Chuck Hubbuch

Assistant Director &

Preserve Curator

Physical Facilities, Landscape & Grounds

Erin Largo-Wight, Ph.D. Associate Professor Public Health, Brooks College of Health
Zak Ovadia Director Campus Planning, Design & Construction
Becky Purser Director Campus Recreation
J. David Lambert, Ph.D.


Associate Professor

Environmental Center

Construction Management, CCEC 

Tony Rossi, Ph.D. Associate Professor Biology, College of Arts & Sciences
Vacant Club President Sawmill Slough Conservation Club
Vince Smyth Director Auxiliary Services
Lance Taylor Associate Vice President Administration & Finance
Chris Wrenn Associate General Counsel General Counsel

Associates (Non-Voting)

Name  Title  Department 
Shawn Asmuth Associate Director  Purchasing
Kevin Anderson Coordinator Ogier Gardens
Lauren Kontol Senator Student Government 
Sam Lento      Coordinator Facilities Management Housing and Residence LIfe
Heather Truelove Assistant Professor Psychology
Matt Davidson Manager UNF Bookstore